Memories

canucks_big4.gifnew_york_islanders.jpg

Tomorrow night’s visit by the New York Islanders evokes fond memories for me.

The first NHL hockey game I ever saw was February 4, 1987 at the Pacific Coliseum. The visitor? The New York Islanders. 

My dad got us tickets through his work and we sat right near the glass in the Canucks home end (row three or four, if I remember correctly). It was the most exciting moment of my young life up to that point. Not only was I able to attend a hockey game, I was able to see the players’ faces, hear the chatter, and acutely experience the speed and physical nature of NHL hockey. (Interestingly enough, I have never sat that close at a game anywhere since.)

The game itself produced something of a rarity in those tough days for Vancouver hockey fans. A lopsided Canucks win (4-1). Against a team only four seasons removed from winning four consecutive Stanley Cups, no less!

Going only by memory, I am pretty sure Tony Tanti scored for the Canucks. I can’t recall who scored any of the other goals in the game, though. I do remember Frank Caprice and Billy Smith being the goalies.

Although the Canucks rarely play the Islanders anymore, let alone host a visit from them, whenever they do it reminds me of one of the best days of my life, even to this day.

0 Responses to “Memories”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

