Captain Luongo

Okay, I admit it: I’m warming up to the idea.

2 Responses to “Captain Luongo”


  1. 1 Emmett October 1, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    I could’ve sworn you once actually advocated making Luongo captain… must have been “misremembering”…

  2. 2 RJ October 1, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    I probably did, albeit flippantly. If you read my initial post on the matter a few posts below, I note that there is a compelling rationale for the decision, from a certain standpoint.

    The problem, as I see it, is that he can’t actually be captain. Indeed, whether he deserves it or not is irrelevant.

    He can’t wear the ‘C’ and he can’t perform the functions of a captain on the ice. For all intents and purposes, he is not, officially-speaking, the captain of the team when they are playing.

    At the risk of sounding entirely contradictory, I have warmed considerably to the intent of the decision yet I still have misgivings about its practical implementation.


Leave a Reply

